Month: May 2013

What I Learned from Kofi Annan

What I Learned from Kofi Annan

What I Learned from Kofi Annan   Today, I sat a few rows away from the front, relatively close to the speaker and presenter for the meeting. His name is Kofi Annan and he is someone I respect and a leader I admire. He gave a brief lecture and then fielded questions and I want…

Share My Post

By Bo White May 28, 2013 Off

Boundaries for Leaders: a Review

Boundaries for Leaders: a Review

Henry Cloud, early on in his book Boundaries for Leaders, states this: “In the end, as a leader, you are always going to get a combination of two things: what you create and what you allow,” (p. 15). This is almost a revelatory statement and when Cloud unpacks it, this becomes a valuable book for…

Share My Post

By Bo White May 24, 2013 Off

Beyond your Job Title

Beyond your Job Title

  In the previous two posts (click back to check them out), I referenced John Maxwell’s 5 levels of leadership and Patrick Lencioni’s 5 dysfunctions of a team. In this post, let me add a few more notes to build upon them. Bill Hybels has said that he looks for leaders of character, competence, and…

Share My Post

By Bo White May 21, 2013 Off

Leaders and Their People

Leaders and Their People

  In a previous post, I referenced the 5 levels of leadership by John C. Maxwell and I encourage you to look it up not only because it’s a useful tool, but because Maxwell captures something that relates so well what it takes to lead real people. For my own personal study and growth, I…

Share My Post

By Bo White May 15, 2013 Off

Leadership Notes from John Maxwell

Leadership Notes from John Maxwell

  John Maxwell has written a lot of books and has been involved in helping people study, learn, and contemplate leadership for several decades. He is in the vein of Zig Ziglar and Dale Carnegie in giving people easy principles to remember and he’s a communicator who speaks all over the world. What’s my point?…

Share My Post

By Bo White May 8, 2013 Off