Bo White

Ideas and Grace over Coffee

Leadership Notes from John Maxwell

 

John Maxwell has written a lot of books and has been involved in helping people study, learn, and contemplate leadership for several decades. He is in the vein of Zig Ziglar and Dale Carnegie in giving people easy principles to remember and he’s a communicator who speaks all over the world. What’s my point?

I have recently been trying to distill my own personal library down to books that I can not only benefit from and practice, but internalize and make a part of what I do daily. In other words, I want to go deeper not wider. Does this mean I won’t read widely? No, but this does mean that I want to continue to go deeper in to areas of strengths and interests. And among these areas is in the arena of leadership, communication, and people development. Maxwell can be a bit ‘cliche’ at times, but he’s interesting, people focused, and pretty entertaining.

In the coming weeks, I will try to make some notes available from other leadership coaches. Why? Because this is a site that explores the impact of ideas and leaders truly influence how we think and the ideas we investigate.

“When leaders stop valuing people, they should stop leading people.” This principle hits home and is important. Maxwell goes on to unpack that the ‘rule of 5’ is one of consistent, everyday, showing up, performance. The ‘rule of 5’ will remind you of the 10,000 rule made famous by Malcolm Gladwell in his book entitled ‘Outliers’, which he references.

I have gleaned a lot NOT from Maxwell’s famous 21 laws (too many for me to remember), but I have found his 5 levels of leadership helpful. He makes the point that you cannot move on to the next level until you’ve mastered the previous level. Where are you on your journey? In the next few weeks, I will add a few more ideas worth keeping in your file. Should you read novels? Yes. Should you read history? Yes. You should read widely, but we should begin to gravitate toward something deeper. The same is true in our own faith journey. At some point you want to go deeper than Sunday morning and deeper than your college ministry. More on that in subsequent weeks, but for now, perhaps you can go a bit deeper by investigating where you are in Maxwell’s five levels.

A brief video introduction of the 5 levels is found here:

http://youtu.be/EMJLyVkGM-s

 

The 5 levels are summarized as follows:

 

Share My Post